Nourishing and Protective Products for Summer Hair

It’s funny that although I don’t really style my hair in the summer, I use a lot of hair products to get the “natural” look.  But, the products that I use are as good for my hair as they make it look good. Here are a few that I have been using regularly and recommend to help hair stay healthy in the heat.

Nick Chavez Plump ‘N Thick Leave-In Thickening Creme Conditioner ($22.00 USD) — an exceptional leave-in conditioner for all hair types that maximizes your hair’s body and volume creating richer, thicker, fatter hair. May be applied to dry, wet or damp hair. Special thickening agents have been added to super hydrate and expand the cuticle.

What I think: This is perfect for two reasons; if you want extra conditioning in the summer for dry and frizzy hair, plus if you need to plump up your limp hair, this is the perfect product.  I usually air dry my hair in the summer so I mostly use this on wet hair after a shower. It helps my hair dry softer and thicker.  Visit www.nickchavezbeverlyhills.com to learn more and purchase.

Crack Leave In Hair Cream ($19.99 USD) — Crack is a leave-in hair cream made with Acai Extract and Silk Protein to moisturize and protect hair from dryness.   This is a unique multi-tasking leave in treatment AND styling aid in one, that instantly and effectively transforms, keratin-depleted, stressed, frizzy, curly hair to a sleek, smooth, healthy, shiny dimension.  Sophisticated micro proteins and power peptides instantly infuse deep into the hair cuticle and encase the hair follicle with a keratinous bond, to promote healing, block the effects of humidity and eliminate up to 95% frizz and curl, leaving hair smooth, shiny and luxurious. This can be purchased on www.folica.com and several professional beauty supply stores near you.

What I think:  LOVE the Crack!  I have been using this almost every day since I have received it. I put just a little in my damp hair and run it through to the ends.  It makes my hair shiny, less frizzy and strengthens it.  This product also protects from the sun and chlorine which is perfect for the summer, and the rest of the year.  Try it, you’ll be addicted, too!

Redken Extreme CAT Protein Reconstructing Treatment for Distressed Hair (14.95 USD) — is an extreme treatment dedicated  to strengthening and healing distressed hair. Part of the Redken Extreme Collection (for hair that is up to 4 times stronger!) this restorative spray contains patented Taurine Technology and Cationic Proteins to help reconstruct damaged hair while preventing future damage or weighing the hair down. Silky, spray formula increases manageability, comb-ability, body and shine. Redken’s  exclusive Interbond Conditioning System delivers unique Proteins, Ceramide and Lipids that provide internal strength to the hair’s structure, reinforcement of the cuticles, and a protective resurfacing to every strand. Hair becomes healthy looking and shiny again. Dry, damaged hair is no longer a CATastrophe with Redken Extreme CAT Reconstructing Treatment.

What I think:  I love this whole Redken Extreme line, but this is the product that I have been using the most.  I love that I can use this on wet or dry hair; I especially love that it is perfect as a detangler for my daughters crazy hair wet or dry.  My 7-year-old loves to run outside in the morning with knots in her hair so I grab her and spray this in her hair and the knots come right out!  I like it for myself as well as it is a great wet hair or dry finishing spray.  NICE!

Leave a comment