Summer Survival Products

Summer beauty and health care is unlike that of any other season in that it holds more ways to hinder your looks.  There are almost dangerous situations such as sunburns and bug bites (having just got bitten by a brown recluse spider, I have had the worse of that).  And, more common but annoying problems of damaged hair, oily skin or dry skin patches from burning.

Here are some of my recent faves to help with some of the summer madness and keep me looking good despite the elements!  Lets start with bug spray…

The Skin So Soft Bug Guard collection is the go-to choice for insect repellency, featuring products that are tough on bugs but soft on you. All products are DEET-free. Skin So Soft Bug Guard insect repellents are suitable for the entire family.  Avon’s insect repellents have the Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval and contain one of two EPA-registered active ingredients, IR3535® or Picaridin. The collection includes:

Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Expedition ™ SPF 30 ($14-$16) – Combined sun and insect protection in one product and available in an Aerosol spray and Pump spray.  Strong and long-lasting repellency against mosquitoes, deer ticks, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges.

Bug Guard Plus Picaridin ($14-$16) – Protection during dusk & dawn, which is when mosquitoes are more active.  Repels deer ticks that may transmit Lyme disease and mosquitoes that may carry West Nile virus.  Available as an Aerosol Spray, Pump Spray and travel-friendly Towelettes.

Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30 Lotions ($14) – Repel mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges.  Aloe and Vitamin E-enriched formulas are available as a Gentle Breeze Lotion and Cool ‘n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion.

Also available is the fab NEW Anti-Itch Spray– Provides temporary, soothing relief to itchy insect bites. ($10).

Beyond just fighting off the bugs outdoors, Avon’s Skin So Soft Bug collection also helps you swat them away virtually with the first-ever Bug Guard game! Visit Avon Products on Facebook to play, and receive a code for free shipping.

Products available at www.avon.com.

AHAVA Sun Anti-Aging Moisturizing Spray

AHAVA Sun Anti-Aging Moisturizing Spray SPF 15 ($26 USD, 8.5 oz) This quick-absorbing SPF 15 spray lotion is enriched with Vitamin E and Pro-Vitamin B5 to neutralize free radicals and fight sun damage.  It meets Australian-approved UV protection standards and provides effective anti-aging protection in water.

Available at www.ahavaus.com

Proactiv Oil Blotter Sheets

Proactiv Oil Blotter Sheets

Summer sweating is inevitable, but Proactiv’s Oil Blotter Sheets ($11 USD) absorb excess oil to leave your skin feeling fresh and clean, with a beautiful matte finish. Made from 100% pure natural-fiber paper, with zero artificial ingredients and no talc, they won’t clog your pores. Tuck them in your purse and your good to go, all day long.

Available at www.DiscoverProactiv.com  and 1-888-819-2019

Joey New York Bye Bye Blackheads

Keep your skin clear and glowing with help from Bye Bye Blackheads ($28 USD) from Joey New York Beauty. This gel masque treatment helps to eliminate blackheads and minimize pores – with visible results in as little as one minute.

When I use a thin layer of this under makeup, it tightens my skin and my pores look less noticeable.  Visit www.joeynewyork.com to learn more and purchase.

Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Night Cream

Use only the most soothing and gentle lotions on your face after cleansing. Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration collection is infused with Clary Sage to deeply moisturize skin. Lather on the Intense Hydration Day Lotion ($17.99 USD) after cleansing in the morning, and let your skin rest softly by applying the Intense Hydration Night Cream ($17.99 USD) right before bed.

These creams are also perfect after a day in the sun.  Hydration helps with very sun drenched skin and peeling.  Visit www.burtsbees.com near you to learn more.  You can purchase at a mass market retailer near you.

Bed Head by TIGI Ego Boost

Bed Head by TIGI Ego Boost ($16.50 USD) Harsh summer elements can leave your hair looking less than desirable.  This stellar split-end mender and leave-in conditioner will help to repair and protect your hair from the harsh summer elements, leaving you with nothing but endless shine!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Summer Survival Products”

  1. Hi. I don’t remember if I ever emailed you to tell you I received my prize I won in one of your fabulous sweepstakes a few months back where I won 2 incredibly beautiful scented bottles of perfume. I am extremely picky about perfumes because many scents make my skin break out and get me sick. However, I loved both perfumes and have had no adverse reactions to them. I’ve received so many compliments from them and am so happy that I decided to enter, something I normally wouldn’t do because of what I just described above. I am so in love with these scents and just wanted to make sure that I thanked you for your generosity and concern, after finding out that the perfumes had not been delivered when they were supposed to have been. You worked so hard to ensure I had a wonderful experience winning this giveaway and far and away, you succeeded with flying colors. You are a gem, I love your blog and although it’s always fabulous to win giveaways, my incentive to being a member of your blogging family is the high quality of your blog, your articles, reviews and fairness. The giveaways are the icing on the cake. I just wanted you to know that I think you’re wonderful and I look forward to many more years of reading your newsletters, blog because they give me so much pleasure. And for that, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    With Warm Regards.
    Dlori
    kleimanlaw at aol dot com

    1. Thanks so much for your kind words. I am happy that you loved the fragrances and that they worked well for you!
      Thanks for reading my blog, too! I love getting feedback…it makes me want to keep on blogging!

Leave a comment