Brightening Skincare For All Price Ranges From Nuance Salma Hayek, Shiseido and ReVive

Brightening products are increasing in popularity as consumers look for ways to get rid of troublesome spots and lighten skin in targeted areas.  I know I have a few dark patches and spots that I would like to lighten.

These products are a big deal in the beauty market as women of all ages want to lighten their dark spots.  One of the most popular products at the moment is Clinique’s Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector.

I haven’t tried that product, but I have tried the following standout products at different price-points for brightening:

·        $: Nuance Salma Hayek Renewing and Brightening Facial Serum –Developed by CVS/pharmacy and Salma Hayek, the Nuance Salma Hayek Renewing and Brightening Facial Serum ($19.99, http://www.cvs.com) features natural Licorice Extract, a tyrosinase inhibitor, to brighten skin and help prevent hyperpigmentation. Other key ingredients include Botanagen SL™ to brighten skin and promote collagen synthesis, exfoliating Bio-Tripeptide, and an antioxidant blend of Tepezcohuite, Blue Agave, South American Camapu, and Mexican Prickly Pear Extract to soothe, hydrate and firm.

What I think: I have tried this product just a few times, so I haven’t seen an improvement in my dark spots.  I do notice that it is a very light serum with a subtle floral scent. And it leaves my skin very soft — must be the exfoliators.  The applicator is a metal roller, which is cooling and soothing on the skin. It goes on before moisturizer.

I am really impressed by the quality of this product.  I will be reviewing other products from this line — look for that post soon!

·        $$: Shiseido White Lucent –Expanding upon their groundbreaking White Lucent technology, which targets pigmentation and microcirculation (the two major causes of pigmentation), the line added two new products last month – White Lucent Anti-Dark Circles Eye Cream ($55, www.shiseido.com) and White Lucent Intensive Spot Targeting Serum (diminishes dark spots in ten days and prevents future pigmentation, $125, www.shiseido.com). The White Lucent products feature 4MSK, an exclusive patented brightening ingredient that diminishes the activity of the enzyme tyrosinase, helping to prevent melanin formation, as well as Yomogi Extract, Multi-Target Vitamin C and Hawthorn Extract.

What I think:  I have been using the Anti-Dark Circles Eye Cream for a couple of weeks now.  It has a fluffy texture and a light, fresh scent.  The packaging is very pretty — a shimmering pink jar.

I like how this feels on my skin.  It instantly smooths and moisturizes my under-eye skin.  My dark circles are a little less noticeable after a couple of weeks.  I will continue using this until it is empty.

I have not tried the serum yet, but I will be trying it soon (am using the ReVive serum below).  It has received mixed reviews, but I will give it the benefit of the doubt since I enjoy the eye cream.

·        $$$: ReVive Blanche Lighten Brighten – Created by renowned plastic surgeon Dr. Gregory Bays Brown, ReVive Blanche Lighten Brighten ($400, www.reviveskincare.com), safely and effectively fades spots caused by acne, sun damage and age. A cocktail of four non-hydroquinone agents and powerful antioxidants work together to even skin tone.

What I think:  I have been testing this lovely prestige serum for 2 weeks now.  It is very pricey — the most expensive skin care product I have tried.  But, so far so good.  I wear it under moisturizer morning and night.  It is a rich serum, and I hot days, I only need a little sunscreen over it.

I have noticed that my skin is noticeably brighter, and my dark spots have gotten a little lighter.  It is not greasy at all, so I will continue to use this for the next few weeks.  It would be great to have my brown spots less noticeable by summer!

If you have tried one of these products, or a different product by one of these brands, please leave a comment!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

